2 switches on same apex Outlet - Help

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by jaymostella, Mar 25, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. jaymostella

    jaymostella Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    North Alabama
    I have 2 float switches in the sump.. Switch4 detects if sump is low and turns on the auto topoff pump, Switch5 is just above switch4 and I was wanting to set it up as a fail safe that would turn off the auto topoff pump in the event switch 4 was stuck or etc.. I dont want it to stay off after activated just until the condition is corrected (water lowered)

    Would the following statement work?

    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Switch4 CLOSED Then ON
    If Switch4 OPEN Then OFF
    If Switch5 Closed Then Off
    If switch5 Open Then On
    Min Time 045:00 Then OFF
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. jaymostella

    jaymostella Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    North Alabama
    WEll I partially answered my own question...

    I see it didnt work..

    I created a virtual outlet and named it High_sump.. In that outlet I put:
    Set OFF
    If Switch5 CLOSED Then OFF
    If Switch5 OPEN Then ON

    With this if the float was up that outlet would be in the "On state" and if the switch was down it would be in the "off state"

    Then I put the following in the Auto topoff outlet:
    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Switch4 CLOSED Then ON
    If Switch4 OPEN Then OFF
    If Outlet High_sump = ON Then OFF
    Min Time 045:00 Then OFF

    Will the "Min Time 045:00 Then OFF" work?? I want it to wait 45 minutes after it comes on before it will start topping off again...

    Is there any problems with this setup?
     
  4. evolved

    evolved Wrasse Freak

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4,257
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    You're getting closer...

    The biggest problem you have now is conflicting/unnecessary statements.

    You don't need to specify both states of the switch; one is implied by the normal state of the switch and using the SET command.

    Also, you want the fail state of any magnetic switch to be open. This is what will happen to a magnetic switch if it fails or if the connection of it to the Apex somehow gets compromised. Therefore, you don't want anything bad to happen if a switch becomes open. So my point is you need make sure your failsafe float (switch 5) is normally closed (ie - if activated upwards it will become an open switch).

    So assuming you do that, here's what you want:

    Virtual outlet High_sump:
    Set OFF
    If Switch5 OPEN Then ON

    You don't need anything else here; this code implies if the switch is closed (normally closed), then this outlet is off (via the SET command).

    Then:

    Auto topoff outlet:
    Fallback OFF
    Set OFF
    If Switch4 CLOSED Then ON
    If Outlet High_sump = ON Then OFF
    Min Time 045:00 Then OFF

    And yes, the min time will act exactly as you described.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  5. jaymostella

    jaymostella Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Awesome! Thanks for the help and I will make your recommended changes...